Special Session
Resource Management Optimization for Heterogeneous Next Generation Wireless Access Networks

Next generation communications will be composed of flexible, multi-tier, and scalable architectures. High user mobility and dynamic management policies that ensure end-to-end reliable and secure support of new services are key towards the adoption of the enabling technologies. In wireless networks, the medium alone creates additional challenges for efficiently providing QoS, due to its broadcast nature and uncertainty. Meanwhile, the proliferation of new services in the mobile market is driving the QoS requirements higher (in terms of performance indicators such as throughput, delay, jitter, error rate, network coverage etc). Thus, an important challenge in future wireless communications is how to design and run a cost efficient network in order to optimize the key performance indicators that will support the user requirements.

Resource management and planning are sets of key mechanisms that enable the efficient and effective operation of wireless networks, aiming to minimize the impact of interference and maximize the overall network performance. For next generation networks, where multiple heterogeneous networks (both in terms of network elements and in term of access technologies) will co-exist in the same geographical area, these mechanisms will be of key importance not only for a single network operation but for the smooth network cooperation, the optimal use of wireless spectrum and the provision of high quality services to the users. Taking into account the requirements, applications, and users, the developed mechanisms should be optimized in terms of performance, scalability, robustness, flexibility and energy efficiency. The purpose of this session is to bring together researchers focusing on resource management and optimization within the context of heterogeneous wireless networking.

Prospective authors are invited to submit original and unpublished works on the following research topics, but not limited to:

  • Access network architectures and protocols optimization towards next generation wireless networks
  • Resource management mechanisms for future heterogeneous networks
  • Network planning
  • Context and location awareness
  • Future wireless services and applications
  • Quality of service in future heterogeneous networks
  • Optimized and robust dynamic spectrum access
  • Reliable and optimized spectrum sharing in next generation networks
  • Performance modeling of future networks
  • Scalability, robustness and resilience
  • Security, privacy and trust in next generation dynamic spectrum access networks
  • Cross-layer design and optimization
  • Co-existence issues of future heterogeneous networks
  • Heterogeneous network simulation models and techniques


Important Dates

Paper submission:

June 8th 2012


Notification of acceptance:

July 15th, 2012


Submission of camera-ready papers:

August 15th, 2012



Special Organizing Commitee


Dr. Vangelis Angelakis
Linkoping University, Sweden


Dr. Ioannis Askoxylakis
Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece

Dr. Elias Tragos
Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece


Dr. Di Yuan
Ranplan Wireless Network Design Ltd, UK

Technical Program Committee members:

Vangelis Angelakis, Linkoping University, Sweden ? co-chair
Ioannis Askoxylakis, ICS, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece ? co-chair
Kaan B?r - Lund University, Sweden
Scott Fowler, Linkoping University, Sweden
Alexandros Fragkiadakis, ICS, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
George Karetsos, Technological research Center of Thessalia, Greece
Albena Mihovska, Aalborg University, Denmark
Stefanos Papadakis, ICS, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
Nikolaos Petroulakis, ICS, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece
Michal Pioro, EIT, Lund University, Sweden
Vasilios Siris, Athens University of Economics and Business, Greece
Elias Tragos, ICS, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Greece ? co-chair
Panagiotis Vlacheas, University of Piraeus, Greece
Di Yuan, Ranplan, UK ? co-chair
Sherali Zeadally, University of the District of Columbia, USA